What’s Your Story?

untitledWe all have a story. Yep, our story. If you were asked by a new friend on a quiet evening to tell them about yourself, what would you tell them? Would you start off with your childhood, who your parents were, etc.?

My story begins as a young child, which in a myriad of ways has determined who I am today. My parents did not raise us in a God fearing home. Actually the closest we came to a Godly home was hearing one of them exclaiming “g&%damn” this or that in everyday conversations. My siblings and I weren’t taken to church to learn about God, we didn’t own a Bible. Although I specifically recall as a young child a church bus picking me up a few times to attend children’s church. Always on my own. I recall waiting for the church bus to arrive and wearing a pretty dress with lace trim and summer sandals to match. I will admit I don’t remember anything about the church, nor what I learned from attending. I do remember my pretty dress that I wore though.

During this time though I had daily conversations with God. Conversations that pertained to the life of a young girl. I would lie in my pale blue canopy bed with Holly Hobby sheets telling God about my day and all of the silly child-like things I wanted or was concerned about. What I remember most vividly is that God spoke back to me, He would whisper inaudible words to me and speak to me just as If he was right there in the room with me. Just lying back and talking as anyone would with a small child going through their day. I never told my parents about these conversations, for no particular reason except that God was not spoken of in our home. I would make up songs to sing to Jesus, because I also knew that He was the Son of God, although my conversations were with God Himself.

As an adult I often think about those nights spent talking with God as a child. He revealed himself to me so long ago, and I wonder if He had not would I believe as an adult? Is it possible to know God without a personal experience? Surely just knowledge alone of His word could not be enough to satisfy our souls. We have to have a relationship with Him. That is merely just the beginning of “my story”, but was brought to the forefront after hearing our pastor speak so vividly of heaven and how God has each of “us” in mind. Yes, that’s you and me.

One thought on “What’s Your Story?

Leave a comment